Press "Enter" to skip to content

10 Mexican states now yellow while Quintana Roo remains orange

Cancun, Riviera Maya, Q.R. — The government of Mexico has announced that 10 states across the country have elevated into a yellow epidemiological light, however, the state of Quintana Roo is not one of them.

State governor Carlos Joaquín González says Quintana Roo will start the month of September with another week in an orange epidemiological light due to a slight rebound in infections. He said four days this past week, health officials recorded an increase of infections, stalling the state from upgrading to yellow as hoped.

“Quintana Roo will remain orange throughout the state from August 31 to September 6,” he announced. “Advancing the state color and winning the battle against COVID-19 is everyone’s job,” he added stressing that the changing of color from orange to yellow would mean more action and activities to recover daily lives.

Carlos Joaquín did say that the state is making progress in terms of its economic recovery, but it is not yet enough and that much more work needs to be done to reach better levels of development and a greater number of jobs.

“These are not easy times, they are complicated and difficult times in which we have to work hard to reach the levels that we had previously,” he said. His announcement came at the same time the Ministry of Health reported 10 states have been upgraded to yellow epidemiological lights.

During a press conference, the Ministry of Health reported that from August 31 to September 6, only one state in the country will remain red, while the others are either orange or yellow. States to reach a medium risk yellow epidemiological light include Sonora, Chihuahua, Tamaulipas, Veracruz, Campeche, Tabasco, Chiapas, Oaxaca, Tlaxcala and Guerrero.

Orange states still considered high risk include Baja California, Baja California Sur, Sinaloa, Durango, Zacatecas, Nayarit, Guanajuato, Querétaro, Jalisco, Michoacán, State of Mexico, CDMX, Morelos, Quintana Roo, Yucatan, Puebla, Hidalgo, Aguascalientes, San Luis Potosí, Nuevo León and Coahuila, while the only state to remain red is Colima.