Press "Enter" to skip to content

Four Quintana Roo destinations awarded Magic Town distinctions

Riviera Maya, Q.R. — Four destinations in Quintana Roo have been acknowledged as being Magic Towns. Due to unique history, traditions and natural beauty, Tulum, Bacalar, Isla Mujeres and Cozumel were awarded their Pueblo Mágico distinctions.

Governor Mara Lazama, along with Mexico’s Secretary of Tourism, Miguel Torruco, delivered the awards Friday. Torruco Marqués participated in the delivery while in Quintana Roo on a working tour of the state.

Together with Governor Lezama, they promoted several actions that strengthen tourism activity, one of which was updating of Magic Towns (Pueblo Mágico). The four destinations were awarded the designation as Magic Town to Cozumel, and the update to Bacalar, Isla Mujeres and Tulum.

Lezama said Quintana Roo was experiencing the best moment of tourism for Quintana Roo and for Mexico, and highlighted the arrival of 7 million passengers at international airports and more than 1,500 cruise ships.

Also accompanied by the Secretary of Tourism of Quintana Roo, Bernardo Cueto Riestra, The head of the Ministry of Tourism (Sectur) gave the president of Cozumel, Juanita Alonso Marrufo, the appointment of Pueblo Mágico to this municipality adding to the emblematic sites that combine various elements that make them unique and reflect the “spirit” of a people.

Photo: CGC February 16, 2024.

He indicated that Cozumel is the fourth Magical Town to be named in Quintana Roo, as a well-deserved recognition of the “land of swallows” for its reef beauty, beautiful white sand beaches and crystal clear water, national parks, pre-Hispanic constructions, among other tourist attractions.

He also specified that it is the main recipient of cruises nationwide, a position that it will maintain in 2024, having scheduled 1,199 arrivals, which will represent 38.4% of the total supply of arrivals.

Photo: CGC February 16, 2024.

Torruco Marqués also presented the mayor of Bacalar, José Alfredo Contreras Méndez, from Isla Mujeres, Atenea Gómez Ricalde and Tulum, Diego Castañón Trejo, towns with a great Mayan legacy, their updates on the designation as Magic Towns.

Likewise, the Citizen Committees of the four Magical Towns of Quintana Roo were sworn in, bodies of great relevance for these enigmatic localities since they contribute to their sustainable economic development and tourism promotion.

”In an honorary manner, for three years, its members, coming from society, will collaborate with local governments to strengthen their peculiar destinies, symbols of national identity,” said the Secretary.

Four Quintana Roo destinations awarded Magic Town distinctions
The Magic Town mayors and Citizen Committees of the four Magical Towns of Quintana Roo. Photo: CGC February 16, 2024.

“My congratulations to the tourist plazas that today, hold the designation of Pueblo Mágico for being a ‘cornerstone’ in the consolidation of Quintana Roo as the main arrival point for international tourists to the country,” he said.