Press "Enter" to skip to content

Secretary of the Navy reorganizes command headquarters on Pacific and Caribbean sides of Mexico

Riviera Maya. Q.R. — The Secretary of the Navy (Semar) has reported the reorganization of navy command headquarters along both sides of Mexico’s coasts. In a statement, Semar said that the reorganization was made official by a Secretarial Agreement published in the Official Gazette of the Federation July 15.

Semar says the commands of the Navy of Mexico located on both coasts of the country have been established. “The zones have been geostrategically delimited, with the aim of further developing the operations of this institution to serve Mexico,” the agency detailed in a press release.

On the coast of the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean Sea, the First Naval Region based in Ciudad Madero, Tamaulipas, groups:
First Naval Zone based in Matamoros, Tamaulipas.
Third Naval Zone based in La Pesca, Tamaulipas.

Third Naval Region based in Veracruz, Veracruz, groups:
Fifth Naval Zone based in Tuxpan,Veracruz.
Seventh Naval Zone based in Coatzacoalcos, Veracruz.

Fifth Naval Region based in Dos Bocas, Tabasco, groups:
Ninth Naval Zone based in Frontera, Tabasco.
Eleventh Naval Zone based in Ciudad del Carmen, Campeche.

Seventh Naval Region based in Lerma, Campeche, groups:
Thirteenth Naval Zone based in Yukalpetén, Yucatán.
Naval Sector of Champotón with headquarters in Champotón, Campeche.

Ninth Naval Region based in Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, groups:
Fifteenth Naval Zone based in Cozumel, Quintana Roo.
Seventeenth Naval Zone based in Chetumal, Quintana Roo.

On the coast of the Pacific Ocean:

Second Naval Region based in Ensenada, Baja California, groups:
San Felipe Naval Sector based in San Felipe, Baja California.

Fourth Naval Region based in La Paz, Baja California Sur, groups:
Second Naval Zone , based in Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur.
Fourth Naval Zone based in Santa Rosalía, Baja California Sur.
Naval Sector of Puerto Cortés , based in Puerto Cortés, BCS.

Sixth Naval Region based in Guaymas, Sonora, groups:
Sixth Naval Zone based in Puerto Peñasco, Sonora.

Eighth Naval Region based in Mazatlan, Sinaloa, groups:
Eighth Naval Zone based in Topolobampo, Sinaloa.
Tenth Naval Zone based in San Blas, Nayarit.
Naval Sector of Islas Marías with headquarters in Isla María Madre.
Naval Sector of Boca de Chila with headquarters in Boca de Chila, Nayarit.

Tenth Naval Region based in Manzanillo, Colima, groups:
Twelfth Naval Zone based in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco.
Fourteenth Naval Zone based in Lázaro Cárdenas, Michoacán.
Isla Socorro Naval Sector headquartered in Isla Socorro.

Twelfth Naval Region based in Acapulco, Guerrero, groups:
Sixteenth Naval Zone , based in Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Guerrero.

Fourteenth Naval Region based in Salina Cruz, Oaxaca, groups:
Eighteenth Naval Zone , based in Huatulco, Oaxaca.
Sixteenth Naval Region based in Puerto Chiapas, Chiapas.

“This reorganization is due to the improvement of the development of the functions of this institution, through each of its naval commands, distributed on both coasts of the Mexican territory, an action that will allow it to continue working at the service of Mexicans using the power naval of the federation for foreign defense and contribute to the internal security of the country,” Semar reported.