Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mexico removed from UK red travel list along with 46 other countries

Cancun, Q.R. — The Government of the United Kingdom has removed 47 countries, including Mexico, from its covid red list. On Thursday, the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) published the news that vaccinated travelers from 47 countries, including Mexico, will be welcomed.

The change is set to become effective October 11. On August 8, Mexico was included on the UK’s red list due to its increase in covid infections.

On social media, the Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Marcelo Ebrard, thanked Liz Truss, Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs of the United Kingdom for her participation in getting Mexico out of the red.

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba , Paraguay and Uruguay are some of the other Latin American countries that will also be eliminated from the list.

Transportation Minister Grant Shapps stated that restoring people’s confidence in travel was key to rebuilding the economy. “With fewer restrictions and more people traveling , we can all continue to move safely together on our road to recovery.”

For those who are vaccinated, travelers into the UK must undergo a single coronavirus test after arriving in the country. The British Home Secretary, Sajid Javid, announced that this test could now be an antigen test, instead of the more expensive PCR.

For those not vaccinated, it is still mandatory to give a negative test three days before traveling and to undergo another two tests upon arrival in British territory, on the second and eighth day after arrival, in addition to serving a ten-day quarantine in a place chosen by the traveler.

“The measures announced today mark the next step in opening up to travel. They offer stability to passengers and the industry,” British Transport Minister Grant Shapps said in a Twitter message.

Other countries including Colombia, Dominican Republic, Venezuela, Ecuador, Panama, Peru, Haiti and Venezuela will remain on the red list.