Press "Enter" to skip to content

Municipalities sign Single Command agreement for new security strategies

Cancun, Q.R. — Nine municipalities have voluntarily joined the state’s single command leaving the Ministry of Public Security (SSP) in control over security strategies.

Municipal councilors and the government of Quintana Roo signed the collaboration agreement for the implementation of the Single Command, handing over security control to Secretaría de Seguridad Pública (SSP).

The newly signed agreement allows the SPP of Quintana Roo to direct security strategies for the fight against organized crime, as well as the application of material and technological resources to reduce the crime rate.

Jesús Alberto Capella Ibarra, head of the SSP said that with the implementation of the Single Command, state police figures increase from 1,429 to 4,904, all of whom will be responsible for security in the municipalities in both the north and southern regions of the state.

During the signing of the agreement, the governor of Quintana Roo, Carlos Joaquín González, explained that the agreement involves the municipalities of the state, and in the case of the Solidaridarid City Council, it has been integrated through a decree that remains active until September of this year.

“We are going to use all resources and inter-institutional collaboration. This is not an invasion of constitutional autonomies. We are talking about a common project of collaboration for the benefit of Quintana Roo,” said the governor.

The governor insisted that regarding security issues, it is necessary to promote dialogue and that the implementation of the Single Command is not intended to violate the municipal autonomy, but to coordinate strategies to combat crime.

“Dialogue is constructed by confronting the problems and accepting the realities, not by going to knock on the doors of federal government officials so that they solve their own incapacities of governance of their territory,” added Carlos Joaquín González.

The signing of the agreement was attended by the governor of Quintana Roo, Carlos Joaquín González as well as head of the SPP, Jesús Alberto Capella Ibarra.

Municipal presidents at the signing included those of Benito Juarez, Puerto Morelos, Cozumel, Isla Mujeres, Bacalar, Tulum, Lázaro Cárdenas, José María Morelos, Felipe Carrillo Puerto, José Esquivel Vargas, as well as representatives of the Armed Forces.

The signing of the agreement was not attended by Laura Beristaín Navarrete, the municipal president of Solidaridad.