Press "Enter" to skip to content

Mexico’s President calls to congratulate Canada’s Justin Trudeau

Mexico City, Mexico — On Thursday from the Palacio Nacional, President Andrés Manuel López Obrador phoned the Prime Minister of Canada, Justin Trudeau to congratulate him on his electoral victory.

“I spoke with Justin Trudeau Prime Minister of Canada to congratulate him on his re-election. We agree to maintain good relations and continue to talk with US congressmen about the importance of approving the T-MEC for the benefit of the three nations,” the president wrote on his Twitter account.

During the call, President López Obrador was accompanied by the Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Marcelo Ebrard Casaubón .

López Obrador said that although the approval of the Trade Agreement between Mexico, the United States and Canada (el Tratado entre México, Estados Unidos y Canadá or T-MEC) will benefit the three nations, in the case of Mexico, it is a very important element to achieve development, not only economics.

From the National Palace, he stressed the importance of the trade agreement, which, he said, will play a very important role in one of the four actions of his government to boost development, as foreign investment and foreign trade will increase.

“The treaty will reaffirm that belief idea that exists worldwide, that Mexico is an option to invest. This is why we are very concerned about the treaty,” he said at a recent press conference where the Undersecretary for North America, Jesús Seade, said the United States will soon begin the process to ratify the T-MEC.

This is the third time López Obrador has talked with Justin Trudeau. The first was when the Canadian Prime Minister congratulated López Obrador on his victory at the polls on July 1, 2018. The second being September 27, 2018 when López Obrador asked the prime minister to intervene with the United States around the modernization of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA).

In previous days, the Mexican president also congratulated the elected president of Argentina, Alberto Fernández and that of Bolivia, Evo Morales.