Press "Enter" to skip to content

Senate approves DST reform to end time change in Mexico

Mexico City, Mexico — With 56 votes in favor of and 29 against, the Senate endorsed the reform of the Law of Time Zones, which will end time changes in Mexico. Daylight Savings Time has been observed around the country since 1996, however, the state of Quintana Roo opted out in October of 2014.

On Tuesday, the plenary session of the Senate approved to issue the new Time Zones Law, which will be published in the Official Gazette of the Federation (DOF) to become official.

The last observed time change in Mexico will be on October 30, since the law still in force. States that observe the time change will move their clocks back one hour with the start of winter. October 30 will be the last time change in those states.

The initiative was sent by President Andrés Manuel López Obrador in July to the Chamber of Deputies.