Press "Enter" to skip to content

Campeche is the first state to obtain a yellow epidemiological light

Campeche, Mexico — The state of Campeche is the first state in the country to obtain a yellow epidemiological light. The announcement of progress was made during a press conference by the Ministry of Health Friday.

The announcement came from Ricardo Cortés Alcalá, the Director General de Promoción de la Salud del Gobierno de México who also reported that out of Mexico’s 32 federal entities, only six remain with a red epidemiological light. The six red states, he said, are Baja California Sur, Nayarit, Zacatecas, Aguascalientes, Colima and Hidalgo. With the exception of Campeche, the rest of the country remains orange.

The orange states are Baja California, Chiapas, Chihuahua, CDMX, Coahuila, Durango, Edomex, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Jalisco, Michoacán, Morelos, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosí, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz and Yucatán.

According to federal data, Campeche has 5,083 accumulated cases and 646 deaths. Currently, the state only has 150 active infections. Cortés Alcalá noted that the yellow light will be in effect for the week of August 17, calling it the state of hope.

The announcement came at the same time as Mexico’s granted request to extend land travel restrictions along the Mexico-U.S. border, citing the increase in coronavirus cases in the U.S., particularly in the south.