Press "Enter" to skip to content

New mayors and mayor reelects finalized by Ieqroo

Riviera Maya, Q.R. — The Electoral Institute of Quintana Roo (Ieqroo) has announced the results of the June 6 electoral votes for mayors in the state’s municipalities. The municipal presidents have been officially awarded accreditation for the elected position.

The last of the certificates were awarded after several municipalities had recounts. The Instituto Electoral de Quintana Roo (Ieqroo) has officially accredited the mayor positions for the following municipal seats.

For the municipality of Bacalar, José Alfredo Contreras Mendez will become the new mayor. For Cozumel, Juanita Alonso Marrufo will take over after the current term being held by Pedro Joaquin Delbouis is complete this year.

In the municipality of Solidaridad (Playa del Carmen), Lili Campos will replace current head Laura Beristain, who was one of four mayors seeking reelection. Marciano Dzul Caamal was successful in beating out current mayor Victor Mas Tas to become the new leader of Tulum.

In the Fall, Mary Hernández will take over the municipality of Felipe Carrillo Puerto, while Erik Borges Yam will become the new municipal president of José María Morelos and Orlando Emir Bellos Tun will assume the position for Lázaro Cárdenas.

Atenea Gómez Ricalde will head the municipality of Isla Mujeres. Blanca Merari Tziu Muñoz will become the new mayor of Puerto Morelos, replacing Laura Fernández, who was mayor elect for two consecutive terms. Laura will continue her political career as a federal deputy.

After a lengthy battle, the current mayor of Cancun Mara Lezama will continue to lead the municipality of Benito Juárez after being reelected for a second term. Lezama was one of the mayors seeking reelection.

The others seeking reelection were Víctor Mas Tah of Tulum, Laura Beristáin for Solidaridad and Sofía Alcocer for José María Morelos. Of the four, Lezama was the only reelected mayor.