Press "Enter" to skip to content

New mayors swear in new heads of public security

Chetumal, Q.R. — Thursday marked the takeover of the newly elected mayors for 10 of the 11 state municipalities. Benito Juarez (Cancun) was the only municipality with a re-elected mayor. For the city of Cancun, Mara Lezama will remain at the helm.

While mayors were being sworn in, new police heads were also assigned with the change in administrations that will run 2021 to 2024.

Several municipalities released the names of the new Public Safety General Directors including the new mayor of Cozumel Juanita Alonso Marrufo who appointed Rodrigo Rodríguez to replace Guido Renan Rosas López.

Yensunni Martínez Hernández, the new mayor of Chetumal says René Martínez Valdés, an active element of the Secretariat of the Navy (Semar), will head the corporation.

In Puerto Morelos, the new municipal mayor Blanca Merari Tziu Muñoz appointed Navy Lieutenant Alfredo Edgardo Valdez de León to be in charge of the office of the Municipal Secretariat of Public Security of Puerto Morelos.

For Playa del Carmen, Lili Campos Miranda won the June election to run the municipality of Solidaridad. She has assigned Raúl Alberto Tassinari González to head the public safety position.

Atenea Gómez Ricalde is now the new sworn in mayor of the municipality of Isla Mujeres and has made Edgar Amilcar Alonzo Paredes the General Directorate of Public Safety and Municipal Traffic.