Press "Enter" to skip to content

Five candidates will run for upcoming governor seat

Chetumal, Q.R. — Five candidates are officially running for the upcoming Governor of Quintana Roo position. On Tuesday, Ieqroo released the information in a statement, naming those officially running for the political position.

Instituto Electoral de Quintana Roo (Ieqroo) announced three women and two men will begin campaigning as of April 3.

The three women running to fill the shoes of the state’s current Governor, Carlos Joaquin are Leslie Hendricks Rubio, Laura Fernández Piña, the previous mayor of Puerto Morelos and Mara Lezama Espinosa, the current mayor of Cancun.

The two men competing with the three women for the governor’s seat are José Luis Pech Várguez and Nirvardo Mena Villanueva.

Mayra San Román Carrillo Medina, president of Ieqroo, says the candidates will begin their public campaigning April 3, which will run until June 1. Voting day for the new Quintana Roo governor will take place on June 5.

Carlos Manuel Joaquín González has been the Governor of Quintana Roo since 2016.