Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ministry of Health reports 7 green states across Mexico

Mexico City, Mexico — Seven states across Mexico are now in a green epidemiological light, an increase from the previous week. The Ministry of Health reported that as of March 29, there are now seven green states and that the country continues with no red or maximum risk-of-contagion states.

In a press release, Dr. Hugo López-Gatell, Undersecretary of Prevention and Health Promotion detailed that for the third consecutive week, Mexico is without any red states. He noted that last red states were Guerrero and Guanajuato during the period of February 15 to 28.

With the announcement of green states (low risk of contagion) last week, Gatell says now Mexico has seven. They include the newly added states of Coahuila, Tamaulipas, Veracruz, Jalisco and Nayarit, which have been added to the already green states of Chiapas and Campeche.

He said that with the state of Jalisco, it is important to note because Guadalajara is the second most populated city in the country and the entire state is green.

In yellow or moderate risk remain Baja California, Baja California Sur, Sinaloa, Durango, Zacatecas, San Luis Potosí, Colima, Aguascalientes, Michoacán, Guerrero, Nuevo León, Tlaxcala, Quintana Roo, Guanajuato, Sonora, Oaxaca, Morelos and Tabasco.

While in orange or high risk, there are Mexico City, State of Mexico, Puebla, Querétaro, Yucatán, Hidalgo and Chihuahua.

Earlier this month, Quintana Roo governor Carlos Joaquin hinted that the state is near a green epidemiological light, however, last week, he detailed an increase in infections of nine of the state’s 11 municipalities.