Press "Enter" to skip to content

Tulum to integrate two new towns into municipality

Tulum, Q.R. — The municipality of Tulum will parent two more towns, integrating them into the municipality of Tulum.

The agreement was made during a City Council meeting when members agreed to integrate the two Maya communities of Yalchén and San Silverio into the municipality. Tulum council members also agreed to a Special Commission for Research, Consultation and Proposal of Solution to help deal with the problems presented in relation to the Mayan communities.

A special member committee was set up consisting of Keyvin Alegría Santuario, Patricia de la Torre Ortíz, Yeni López Landero and Marciano Dzul Caamal, who will be responsible for the integration.

The move comes at the request of the towns, who are currently under the municipal ruling of Felipe Carrillo Puerto.